viva-SENZA-paura

insights on art, culture, lifestyle, spirituality, travel, music, society and much much more from a jet-setter currently on "furlough"…

Roadie {Food} Trip – Best Eats

A highlight of my favorite eats (and drinks) during my spring break trip up the East Coast…

I wanted to blog throughout my “road” trip as I hopped from cars to buses to trains, but did not always have adequate internet access or a plug to charge my Macbook Pro (with a battery life of around 1 hour tops these days). Nonetheless, I am fresh back from a wonderful week away and wanted to share mini reviews of all the places I ate at during my time in Pennsylvania, New York City, Boston & her North Shore. The food in the Washington DC area doesn’t always scream high quality for what you pay, so it was extremely refreshing to try both the local and international fare elsewhere. Chain restaurants were avoided for the most part, and mom & pop shops (as well as the slow food concept) were embraced. And yes, I photographed (artistically, to the best of my ability) almost everything I consumed. Hey, foodage is serious business! My friend Jessica joked that by the time I am 40, I would have enough pictures of cuisine from around the world to compile a book the size of an encyclopedia. I concur – maybe two encyclopedias.

Here is a list of my top picks in no particular order (photos and descriptions of food + drink consumed to follow in preceding posts):

1.) The Shannon Rose, classy Irish/British pub food – Clifton, NJ

2.) Washington House, eclectic American cuisine – Sellersville, PA (I didn’t actually eat here due to the pricey menu, but world traveler turned back into singer-songwriter Jennifer Knapp gave this place high accolades and raved about their shrimp and scallops risotto during her concert at the Sellersville Theatre next door that evening, so I’m taking her word for it)

3.) Tick-Tock Diner, where Mr. and Mrs. K frequented; also featured on the Food Network’s Diners, Drive-In’s and Dives show- Clifton, NJ (Guy Fieri approved? Me too.)

4.) Lovely Day, eclectic/global cafe famous for their Thai cuisine – NYC

5.) Amrheins – American bistro – Boston, MA

6.) Siam Delight, artsy Thai cooking – Beverly, MA

7.) Ponte Vecchio Trattoria & Bar, traditional/homemade Italian food – Danvers, MA

8.) theCounter, avant-garde meets organic/local vegetarian-vegan fare – NYC

The following posts will showcase my attempt at blogging about food. This could take a few days, so please bear with me. In the meantime, if you have any suggestions on where I should eat in the Philly, NYC and Boston areas the next time I’m in town, do enlighten me.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

